Bucket List 

Posted: March 16, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Bucket List: a number of experiences or achievements that are person hopes to have or accomplish during their lifetime. 

A few months ago my kids and I were visiting a friend in a bustling city a few hundred kilometres away from our quaint (boring), small (blip on the map), hometown (prison?). It was a beautiful, warm, summer evening and we were driving in my friends jeep, windows down, moving slowly through the downtown streets, taking in the scenes and the multicultural tangle of people walking the sidewalks, sitting at cafe tables along the sides of buildings, street performers beating their small drum or strumming their guitar as their case lay open in front of them taking donations. We were in awe of the scene unfolding around us. Everything was new and exciting to us, as if we were seeing it for the first time, although we had visited regularly over the summer. Still, the vast contrast to our everyday scenes at home were mesmerizing to us, from the old man with his accordion to the homeless guy begging for change. One thing was for certain, we were not in Kansas anymore! 

One particular street was lined with bars from small Irish pubs to trendy dance clubs. My friend and I chatted that one of these days we were going to get dressed up and go bar hopping there. 

“I will put in on my bucket list.” I commented. I didn’t have an actual bucket list but there were a few things in my mind that I would like to do. 

This weekend was early in my stages of recovery after my bipolar diagnosis. It was also shortly after my marriage had ended and my kids and I had moved back in with my parents. My life had been turned upside down and I was working on trying to regain my footing, to get a grasp on this changing life, and figure out where to go from there. In all honesty, I had no idea of what I was going to do next and trying to piece together my shattered life felt like trying to line up the colors on a rubix cube- frustrating and near impossible! 

The topic of a bucket list carried on for the remainder of the drive and even my oldest son (16) got in on the conversation. We all (minus my youngest son who’s bucket list mainly contained minecraft achievements) had a diverse list of things we wanted to do, see or accomplish in life. I had every intention of writing down my list, but never did, and it wasn’t until recently that it once again came to mind. 

So months later, while still trying to regain my grip on life and actually making progress, I have a decided to, once again, develop my bucket list and record this list of aspirations. 

Write and publish a book.  The kind of book isn’t important whether it be fiction or non fiction, although I am pretty much convinced that it will be non fiction, as long as it is an actual book that has been published. 

Learn to square dance. Yes, seriously. I want to learn to square dance and do it well, complete with cowboy boots and a cowboy hat! 

Visit Italy. Of all the places in the world I would love to visit, Italy is at the topic of the list, particularly Venice. 

At some point in life, work as a party planner. Aside from being a writer, if I could be anything in the world it would be a party planner. I love planning events, big and small. 

To, finally, reach my goal weight of 150-160 pounds and maintain it. I’ve struggled with weight issues my entire adult life and this number range has been my goal for years. Someday I will reach it, and maintain it. 

Someday, not today or tomorrow, but someday, I will fall in love and get married again. My first marriage was an absolute disaster, not for lack of trying. I didn’t have the romantic proposal, the wedding planning, or a big wedding. Someday, I want all of that. 

Help Chinese orphans. This will probably prove to be one of the most challenging things on my bucket list, but without a doubt, the most rewarding. I’ve done some research and the amount of help needed is heartbreaking.

My bucket list isn’t complete yet, nor does it need to be. As time passes I will add to it, and hopefully subtract from it as I experience the things I aspiring to do. I have my whole life ahead of me, and I refuse to let this disorder rob me of that. I have seen the worst of times. It’s all uphill from here and I plan to make the most of it. 

Do you have a bucket list? Feel free to share 🙂 



Comments
  1. EarthLoveMom says:

    I’ve never had a bucket list. I guess I’ve always been a “one day at a time” kind of person. I hope you get to check off a lot from that list. Keep writing, you are very good.

    Like

  2. bipolarwhisper says:

    Great topic. I do have a bucket list. Funny enough though I have 2. One was a small one….things I wanted to accomplish in a 12 month period the second was a life long one, what I wanted to do before I kicked the bucket.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

