Music Therapy (Jamming with my Boys) 

Posted: April 23, 2015 in Family, Life and the Pursuit of Balance & Happiness, Parenting, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

 It was a typical school night. Little K had just come in from hanging outside with his friends, had a bath, and was dressed in fresh, clean pjs. This was always my favourite time of the day when my kids were little, but as they’ve grown up they want less and less time with their old Mom so the cuddly hours before bed have been replaced with talking to their friends (girlfriend for Big K), playing xbox, or some online game on laptops with their friends. 

But this night was different. Our home has gone Unplugged (you can read about this in a precious post) which means the kids have no Xbox, laptops, or iPhones, but no one was complaining. And this is how the story goes……

I was laying down on Little K’s bed, chatting with him while he fooled around on his guitar. I had my iPhone in hand (I am not unplugged as I am not the one with an addiction to everything electronic) and was listening to music, singing along to the hoarse lyrics of Janis Joplin. Out of no where Little K started to try and play along with the music. We went through Me and My Bobby McGee a couple of times as he picked up the chords for bits and pieces of the song. From there he played a couple more songs as I sang along, but before too long he was tired. Instead of turning on the TV (they no longer have that either!) he asked me to lay down with him and sing him to sleep, patting his back to the beat of whatever song I was singing like I used to do when he was little. 

Shut the front door! 

I tucked him into bed and lay next to him, playing a little Trooper and Janis Joplin on my phone quietly while I sang along to the words and patted his little back to the rhythm. In just a few minutes he was asleep. 

Our short but sweet jam session didn’t go unnoticed by Big K who was strumming away on his guitar in the next room. Once his little brother was asleep he came into the room and started playing a couple of songs for me. We found a common ground in our diverse taste in music- Pink Floyd. As he strummed to the tune of Wish You Were Here on his guitar, I let the song play on my iTunes and sang along. Little K began to stir, so we moved into the living room. The next hour was spent jamming to some of both of our fav tunes- a little Joplin, some Lynard Skynard, AC/DC, Nine Inch Nails, Nirvana, and many others. He strummed and picked on his guitar while I sang, not well but whole heartedly, and we had a great time. 

There is something to be said about the effects of music, or more so in my case, singing at the top of my lungs even though I royally suck at it. It frees the mind, the heart, the spirit. As you let go of your insecurities (what if someone hears me? My singing is terrible !!) and belt the words out from your inner core, all of your worries escape with it. Music is indeed therapy but it was much more than that. The real therapy, what did the most for my heart and soul last night, was spending time with my boys. Fun time. Time uninterrupted by the electric buzz of electronics, the chitter chat of kids on Skype, or the background sounds of video games. We just jammed and it was the absolute best therapy I could have needed. 

Comments
  1. hbhatnagar says:

    Ah, the age where your kids aren’t embarrassed by your shenanigans! Isn’t it lovely? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

