When pondering how to express exactly what is on my mind, and just what to name the blog post describing it, the laws of attraction came to mind. The thing is, there really are no laws when it comes to attraction are there? There are no rules that govern who or what attracts us or doesn’t. Attraction is one of the most primal of reactions and although we can control how we respond to said attraction, there is no way we can control the attraction itself. 

So what brings me to this topic today you ask? Only the strangest of attractions I have ever experienced in my life! 

I work as a personal care attendant in a private, home based setting, caring for a lovely elderly lady who is as much of a friend as she is a client. I have been there for several months during which time she has lived alone for the most part, until her son came to stay with her this past winter for a few months. Having him there has been an enormous help to myself and her other PCAs and he is a pleasure to be around. He’s funny and friendly and has a genuine love for his mother. He’s single, having been divorced for many years and has children who are older than I am. He’s 59 years old. I’ve been around this man for a couple days a week every week since just before Christmas. We’ve even spent time alone when I have given him a lift to run errands. We’ve chatted and laughed and joked with his Mom. He’s been great to have around and I’ve enjoyed work more since he’s been there than I ever did before. However, I was never, in any way, shape or form, attracted to him, not even in the least. 

Until today! 

Let me start by saying he isn’t your typical late 50s man. He is slim and toned, in great shape for even a 40 year old, has a full head of hair that is slightly salt and peppered which he keeps neatly trim and styled, is tanned, and dresses as if he were 40, which is exactly how he looks. Today he had been outside doing yard work and had come in and had a shower. I was doing dishes when he emerged wearing trendy jeans, a blue and white plaid shirt with the tails left untucked and the sleeves rolled up to his elbows, the light coloured fabric enhancing the tan skin on his arms. His short dark hair was slightly tossled, he wore a pair of sunglasses and he smelled oh so good. 

Something fluttered in my tummy and my heart rate sped up. What the hell? Where did that come from? In all the time that I have known him, saw him on a regular basis, even spent time alone with him I had never felt anything before, not even the tiniest twinge of attraction. Yet, there I was, standing at the kitchen sink as he stood beside me and talked, not hearing a word that was said, my cheeks flushing, and my stomach doing flip flops. He smelled good- a mixture or soap, some sort of cologne, and coffee. I tried to concentrate on the words that were coming out of his mouth and not the perfectly lined, white teeth that shone under his bright smile. 

Moments later he was gone, sitting with his coffee on the deck outside and I breathed a sigh of relief and tried to shake off the strange sensation that his presence had on me in that brief moment. Yeah, I couldn’t control the attraction that I felt, but I would also never, in this lifetime or the next, act on it. He isn’t even my type, not to mention the fact that he’s only a few years away from being a senior citizen! Where was my head? Well, that’s just the thing….initial attraction has nothing to do with what’s in our head, it’s just human nature. There are no laws of attraction, no rules in which we follow before deciding who we are attracted to. We don’t decide who or when we are attracted to someone. It just happens. It’s natural, even when it is rather strange and unsettling, and it reminds us that somewhere within us is a healthy, sexual, passionate person with needs and wants and desires. 

There are no laws of attraction and that my friends, is what makes attraction so much fun. 

Comments
  1. michelleives says:

    I’m 41, and get told I look like I’m in my early 30’s. I have a friend with benefits who is 63. He’s awesome and he’s certainly one of the best people I know. I don’t look at age or looks, but follow the attraction. It’s fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

